Ignominious Eight: House GOP-ers for W-M

The following eight Republicans voted FOR Waxman-Markey and were instrumental in helping the bill to pass today. They should be targeted for defeat in the 2010 election.

The Ignominious Eight are:

Mary Bono Mack (R-CA)
Mike Castle (R-DE)
Mark Steven Kirk (R-IL)
Leonard Lance (R-NJ)
Frank LoBiondo (R-NJ)
John McHugh (R-NY)
Dave Reichert (R-WA)
Chris Smith (R-NJ)

Click here for the final vote tally.

Scaredy-CAT: USCAP member switches on W-M

Energy & Environment News reports that heavy-equipment manufacturer Caterpillar now opposes Waxman-Markey:

“We cannot endorse this bill in its current form,” Caterpillar Chairman and CEO Jim Owens wrote in a letter to House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) yesterday. “Despite our efforts to improve portions of the bill, specific provisions relating to non-road equipment, black carbon, border measures and other critical issues remain problematic.”

Owens was a fool to ever think that global warming legislation would work for his company.

BTW, Greenpeace also now opposes W-M because it

…has been so heavily influenced by the coal and oil industries…